PDA

View Full Version : Any "tall" people feel stereotyped?

rush
07-19-2011, 08:27 AM
First off, I'm not necessarily "tall," in terms of NBA standards. I'm 6', or 6'1 at most. Depending on your point of view, this could qualify as tall or average, or whatever.

When I used to play in San Diego, there were some really tall guys there... around 6'5, 6'8, etc.

I was pretty average, compared to those guys. And I played guard roles - PG or SG, or a swingman.

Then I moved to LA, and I started playing at a local park, where I'm frequently the tallest guy on the court. And they always pigeonhole me into playing "Center."

They're always like, "Go inside! Go inside! Post up!"

I'm pretty versatile though, so I'll post up and bang like they want, but the position I really wanna play is PG or SG. I could pretty much penetrate the defense at will and draw double/triple-teams.

But just because I'm one of the taller guys, they call me the "big man," and they just want me to bang (thankless job), when I'm looking at our PG situation and shaking my head.

Also, when I take a jump shot once in a while and I miss, people tend to call me out for it. They're always like, "What are you doing?! Get inside!" This also applies on the rare occasions that I turn the ball over.

On the flipside, the guy anointed "PG" on the team gets to turn the ball over pretty often, and he gets to chuck horrible shots all game, without anyone questioning his abilities.

BTW at San Diego, I won a 3-pt contest at my local gym, where 20-some people competed. I know it's not saying much, but I used to make it rain from that distance, and the defense would always remind their teammates, "Watch out for that guy. He can shoot."

This is in stark contrast to the new "big-man-who-can't-shoot-or-dribble" image I'm dealing with, at this new park.