View Full Version : How is this not a travel or pass to self?
EveryManALion
06-01-2012, 04:15 PM
I am curious, does it count as getting his own rebound? Or an intentional pass to himself? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cvU8EaiyT3c
Mach_3
06-01-2012, 04:24 PM
It counts as a missed shot, rebound, then made FG or at least that's what it SHOULD count as
LamarOdom
06-01-2012, 04:28 PM
I have thought about that cause when you shot a air ball and grab your own rebound it's a travel.
To the poster above that doesn't count as a shot in the box score.
reppy
06-01-2012, 04:41 PM
It's odd. Back in 2004, this was posted on Mark Cuban's blog:
I digress. Back to Kobe’s pass off the backboard. Many commented and emailed about how it was legal because it did hit the backboard. Wrong answer.
The correct answer, confirmed by Stu Jackson today, is that it should have been a travel because it was not a shot. No attempt was made to actually make a basket. Since it was not a field goal attempt, it was a pass, and you cant pass to yourself off the backboard.
And then this:
I guess the NBA wants to make my blog look bad. Either that, or they have a real failure to communicate internally. After I posted that Kobe’s pass off the backboard was illegal, the NBA confirmed to me it was a travel. So what happens in our game against the Kings? With the game still close, Webber gets stopped, thenthrows the ball against the backboard, gets it back and scores.
I asked the NBA about the playafter the game. They say it’s a travel.They just missed it. They also say they sent out a memo to the officials about it. So what went wrong ? These are all star refs, right?
However, according to this Q&A page from 2009 on NBA.com.
Are you allowed to throw the ball off the backboard, grab your own rebound and dunk it without landing?
-- Blaise
Bernie's answer: Yes. Under the traveling rule, a player who attempts a shot or pass may not be the first to touch the ball unless it touches the backboard, rim or another player. Therefore, a player can intentionally pass the ball to himself off the backboard or rim.
Mach_3
06-01-2012, 04:44 PM
I have thought about that cause when you shot a air ball and grab your own rebound it's a travel.
To the poster above that doesn't count as a shot in the box score.
But technically that's not an airball cause it hit the backboard, and I remember that play from a while ago im pretty sure it counted as a missed shot in the box score. Of course i just blazed up a lil while ago so my memory might be a little shot
...wait here it is
Are you allowed to throw the ball off the backboard, grab your own rebound and dunk it without landing?
-- Blaise
Bernie's answer: Yes. Under the traveling rule, a player who attempts a shot or pass may not be the first to touch the ball unless it touches the backboard, rim or another player. Therefore, a player can intentionally pass the ball to himself off the backboard or rim.
Not sure how that works... its supposed to be a travel since its illegal to pass to yourself, even of the backboard... Seen Lebron do that a couple of times to with dunks (both i remember didnt count as offensive rebounds / missed shots, very wierd), only once was it a travel but only because it was obvious it was a travel (he took an extra step before the pass to the backboard)... its kindof confusing... "its allowed, but its not allowed"
Bladers
06-01-2012, 04:59 PM
Not sure how that works... its supposed to be a travel since its illegal to pass to yourself, even of the backboard... Seen Lebron do that a couple of times to with dunks (both i remember didnt count as offensive rebounds / missed shots, very wierd), only once was it a travel but only because it was obvious it was a travel (he took an extra step before the pass to the backboard)... its kindof confusing... "its allowed, but its not allowed"
lol lebron has never done that intentionally.
He's tried it twice. Once intentionally and failed miserably, the other time he tripped and had to throw up the ball.. :oldlol:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CZA2WVOW2Pc
When he consciously tries it he travels like a mfer cause he got horrible foot work.
pegasus
06-01-2012, 06:19 PM
lol lebron has never done that intentionally.
He's tried it twice. Once intentionally and failed miserably, the other time he tripped and had to throw up the ball.. :oldlol:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CZA2WVOW2Pc
When he consciously tries it he travels like a mfer cause he got horrible foot work.
:roll: :roll: :roll:
Thanking you for saving me the trouble of looking that up. Pauk got burnt.:lol
AMISTILLILL
06-01-2012, 06:23 PM
For whatever reason, this thread reminded me of that terrible freethrow attempt from Brad Miller in that 2009 Bulls/Celtics series. The one where he had like... a wad of gauze in his mouth while trying to miss and bounce it off the rim. :oldlol:
Fudge
06-01-2012, 06:27 PM
lol lebron has never done that intentionally.
He's tried it twice. Once intentionally and failed miserably, the other time he tripped and had to throw up the ball.. :oldlol:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CZA2WVOW2Pc
When he consciously tries it he travels like a mfer cause he got horrible foot work.
:roll: :roll: :roll: :roll:
Poor pauk.
Living Being
06-01-2012, 06:32 PM
lmao @ LeBron's 5 steps.
Heavincent
06-01-2012, 06:38 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CZA2WVOW2Pc
I love Lebron's facial expression after that. He's like "wait, I can't take 5 steps?" :roll:
Remix
06-01-2012, 06:40 PM
I love Lebron's facial expression after that. He's like "wait, I can't take 5 steps?" :roll:
I know he's like... what?...that's how many I usually take and never get called for
NumberSix
06-01-2012, 06:43 PM
Who's to say it wasn't a shot? You can't enforce such a thing. Are you really gonna not allow players to rebound their own shot if it doesn't hit the rim. That would be an absurd rule.
bdreason
06-01-2012, 06:43 PM
If it hits the backboard the ball is 'reset'. It's considered a missed shot attempt. I really don't see the controversy here.
L.Kizzle
06-01-2012, 06:45 PM
McGrady did it first.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0TeA_l3MFhk
McGrady did it first.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0TeA_l3MFhk
McGrady was the first one I can recall to do this exactly, though IIRC Mark Jackson once killed his dribble and ended up deliberately "shooting" off the backboard collecting an easy "rebound" and taking a short lay in.
And I don't think you can call it a travel because you'd have claim to know intent, and you'd get into gray areas over players tipping it to themselves etc.
i dont get why its illegal to do it on the FT line but legal elsewhere.
Dwyane Rose
06-01-2012, 07:33 PM
lol lebron has never done that intentionally.
He's tried it twice. Once intentionally and failed miserably, the other time he tripped and had to throw up the ball.. :oldlol:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CZA2WVOW2Pc
When he consciously tries it he travels like a mfer cause he got horrible foot work.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=26YnWnwNmQo
He does it during a regular season game in this video.
lol lebron has never done that intentionally.
He's tried it twice. Once intentionally and failed miserably, the other time he tripped and had to throw up the ball.. :oldlol:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CZA2WVOW2Pc
When he consciously tries it he travels like a mfer cause he got horrible foot work.
Three times i remember very carefully.
1. Headfake, pass, of the backboard, dunk, Miami 2011 season (no, he didnt trip :facepalm)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=26YnWnwNmQo
2. Post up, headfake, spin, of the backboard, lay in/layup, Cleveland 2010 season
(cant seem to find that video on youtube, will throw it up if i find)
3. Travel, one to many step, he couldnt make up his mind what he was gona do, shoot, pass or go for the backboard pass, Miami 2011 season
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CZA2WVOW2Pc
Bladers ladies and gentlemen.... how is the off season going anyways? Following your "winner" in the fine fishing resorts next to that brick cabin of Los Angeles huh? I assume his "footwork" allows him to walk many miles there...
handbanana
06-01-2012, 08:10 PM
ok. i know one thing for a fact.
under international (FIBA) rules, passing to yourself counts as a dribble. so if you had one dribble, then stopped the ball, passing to yourself would be a double dribble, therefore illegal.
not sure about nba rules tho
proof:
FIBA rulebook
Art. 24 Dribbling
24.1 Definition
24.1.1 A dribble is the movement of a live ball caused by a player in control of that ball who throws, taps, rolls the ball on the floor or deliberately throws it against the back-board.
Stephen Curry
06-01-2012, 08:11 PM
its not a fkin travel only if u throw it up in the air and catch it then it is,
anything that hits a backboard is a rebound
Who's to say it wasn't a shot? You can't enforce such a thing. Are you really gonna not allow players to rebound their own shot if it doesn't hit the rim. That would be an absurd rule.
Agreed. Keep it simple: if the ball touches the backboard, whether it was a shot attempt or not, you can grab the ball. If that is not currently the rule, it should be.
L.Kizzle
06-01-2012, 08:19 PM
i dont get why its illegal to do it on the FT line but legal elsewhere.
It's not really illegal, it just really can't be pulled off right.
1. Headfake, pass, of the backboard, dunk, Miami 2011 season (no, he didnt trip :facepalm)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=26YnWnwNmQo
2. Post up, headfake, spin, of the backboard, lay in/layup, Cleveland 2010 season
(cant seem to find that video on youtube, will throw it up if i find)
3. Travel, one to many step, he couldnt make up his mind what he was gona do, shoot, pass or go for the backboard pass, Miami 2011 season
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CZA2WVOW2Pc
My goodness these are awkward as ****.
Milton
06-01-2012, 09:01 PM
Could it be that it is not a travel because it is out of his hands before he lands? So like if I pick up my dribble throw the ball in the air, jump, catch it, then shot before I land , would that be okay?
inclinerator
06-01-2012, 10:46 PM
Could it be that it is not a travel because it is out of his hands before he lands? So like if I pick up my dribble throw the ball in the air, jump, catch it, then shot before I land , would that be okay?
unless u lose the ball its a travel, the only reason why its not a travel is because it hit something be it player, backboard etc.
HylianNightmare
06-01-2012, 11:41 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h46jeOtKgwc
HylianNightmare
06-01-2012, 11:45 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NXlo8AgpHAQ
bdreason
06-02-2012, 04:16 AM
i dont get why its illegal to do it on the FT line but legal elsewhere.
Really? Really?
Because the guy would just fire the ball of the backboard to get an extra possession every time. :hammerhead:
28renyoy
06-02-2012, 04:37 AM
Three times i remember very carefully.
1. Headfake, pass, of the backboard, dunk, Miami 2011 season (no, he didnt trip :facepalm)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=26YnWnwNmQo
2. Post up, headfake, spin, of the backboard, lay in/layup, Cleveland 2010 season
(cant seem to find that video on youtube, will throw it up if i find)
3. Travel, one to many step, he couldnt make up his mind what he was gona do, shoot, pass or go for the backboard pass, Miami 2011 season
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CZA2WVOW2Pc
Bladers ladies and gentlemen.... how is the off season going anyways? Following your "winner" in the fine fishing resorts next to that brick cabin of Los Angeles huh? I assume his "footwork" allows him to walk many miles there...
Either you just made up #2 or you have an extremely unhealthy obsession with LeBron James, and both are probably true.
iamgine
06-02-2012, 04:44 AM
It's not a travel because it hit the backboard thus it counts as a shot. I don't see how this is a problem.
Who's to say it wasn't a shot? You can't enforce such a thing. Are you really gonna not allow players to rebound their own shot if it doesn't hit the rim. That would be an absurd rule.
The refs. Stop being absurd: it's very easy to tell whether a player attempted a shot or passed it to themselves deliberately.
I guess the rule is simply that it's okay if it hits the backboard. Doesn't mean it should be counted as a shot, when it's obviously not a shot.
It counts as a missed shot and rebound. If you look at a play-by-play that's what it says.
iamgine
06-02-2012, 05:25 AM
The refs. Stop being absurd: it's very easy to tell whether a player attempted a shot or passed it to themselves deliberately.
I guess the rule is simply that it's okay if it hits the backboard. Doesn't mean it should be counted as a shot, when it's obviously not a shot.
No it should be counted as a shot even if it's not a shot.
it should be counted as a shot if it's not a shot.
Yes that makes sense. Words to live by. Lets count every time the ball moves through the air as a shot, even when it clearly isn't.
New boxscores everybody!
http://i50.tinypic.com/4scxmw.png
Also, FG% has become an obsolete stat!
iamgine
06-02-2012, 06:26 AM
Yes that makes sense. Words to live by. Lets count every time the ball moves through the air as a shot, even when it clearly isn't.
New boxscores everybody!
http://i50.tinypic.com/4scxmw.png
Also, FG% has become an obsolete stat!
Not if it doesn't touch the backboard.
RidonKs
06-02-2012, 06:58 AM
funny this thread should come up, a similar dispute came up not once but twice last week when i was playing ball
the question's simple enough; if i attempt a shot and miss absolutely everything, can i grab my own rebound? the ball isn't deflected and doesn't come into contact with the rim or backboard, but it was undoubtedly a shot attempt.
i thought this was a travel (then again, i also thought a pass off the backboard was perfectly legal). another guy said that as long as the ball reaches rim level, it doesn't have to hit anything for the shooter to come back down with it. another guy seemed to imply the same thing as ljj above, if it looks like a shot attempt, then you can rebound it without it being a travel regardless of any other factor
what's the answer here?
SevereUpInHere
06-02-2012, 07:02 AM
i dont get why its illegal to do it on the FT line but legal elsewhere.
Reallly? Um, because if the ball doesn't hit the rim on a freethrow it's a violation... obviously not the case in normal play.
InfiniteBaskets
06-02-2012, 07:20 AM
It's obvious that Kobe's play was a self-pass rather than a shot attempt, but I guess no matter what, you can argue that it may have been a shot attempt since you don't know what the player is thinking.
Has anyone found a replay where someone has done a self-pass off the backboard but then continued dribbling? Technically if you shoot, miss, grab your own rebound, you're allowed to dribble again. But for some reason I haven't found any footage of a pass off the backboard leading to a dribble, or even to a player catching it and landing back down on the ground with the ball still in his hands.
albas89
06-02-2012, 07:39 AM
I thought you have to catch it AND shoot it mid-air in order not to be a travel, I thought if you catch it and land, then shoot, is a travel... I might be wrong though!
iamgine
06-02-2012, 07:39 AM
funny this thread should come up, a similar dispute came up not once but twice last week when i was playing ball
the question's simple enough; if i attempt a shot and miss absolutely everything, can i grab my own rebound? the ball isn't deflected and doesn't come into contact with the rim or backboard, but it was undoubtedly a shot attempt.
i thought this was a travel (then again, i also thought a pass off the backboard was perfectly legal). another guy said that as long as the ball reaches rim level, it doesn't have to hit anything for the shooter to come back down with it. another guy seemed to imply the same thing as ljj above, if it looks like a shot attempt, then you can rebound it without it being a travel regardless of any other factor
what's the answer here?
That is not allowed anywhere.
Basically:
Even if it is a pass, you CAN get the ball after it touch the backboard/rim/player.
and
Even if it is a shot. you CANNOT touch the ball before it touch the backboard/rim/player.
InfiniteBaskets
06-02-2012, 07:50 AM
I thought you have to catch it AND shoot it mid-air in order not to be a travel, I thought if you catch it and land, then shoot, is a travel... I might be wrong though!
But then we would be re-defining the move for what it is. If we are calling it a shot attempt, miss, rebound, then technically you don't have to shoot in mid-air.
inclinerator
06-02-2012, 08:16 AM
funny this thread should come up, a similar dispute came up not once but twice last week when i was playing ball
the question's simple enough; if i attempt a shot and miss absolutely everything, can i grab my own rebound? the ball isn't deflected and doesn't come into contact with the rim or backboard, but it was undoubtedly a shot attempt.
i thought this was a travel (then again, i also thought a pass off the backboard was perfectly legal). another guy said that as long as the ball reaches rim level, it doesn't have to hit anything for the shooter to come back down with it. another guy seemed to imply the same thing as ljj above, if it looks like a shot attempt, then you can rebound it without it being a travel regardless of any other factor
what's the answer here?
nope cant catch your own shot only if its deflected
RidonKs
06-02-2012, 09:13 AM
nope cant catch your own shot only if its deflected
this is what i thought, thanks for clarification fellas
albas89
06-02-2012, 09:13 AM
But then we would be re-defining the move for what it is. If we are calling it a shot attempt, miss, rebound, then technically you don't have to shoot in mid-air.
Yep, obviously I got it wrong...
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.5 Copyright © 2025 vBulletin Solutions Inc. All rights reserved.