PDA

View Full Version : Moving to the US in less than 2 months! Any advice?

millwad
06-05-2012, 09:48 AM
It's time for my year as an exchange student at Texas A&M and I'm majoring in business and marketing.

I've had so much to do so I haven't really prepared mentally yet, it's not like I'm going to war, haha, or anything but still, it's a big change in many ways.

I've been in Houston before so it's not like I've never been in the US but I have no idea really how the system is over there as a student, only ignorant prejudice thoughts after seeing crappy college-movies.. :facepalm

Any college students here? How much do you spend on monthly basis? Where do you live? How much is an ok price for rent? Is getting a car a must? How many hours a week do you study? Are college girls as CHEAP as in 'em movies?

Ohhhhhh, so many questions...

rufuspaul
06-05-2012, 09:51 AM
You will need to buy a handgun as soon as you arrive. It's mandatory in Texas. You'll also need a cowboy hat and boots and a large American flag so you can wave it at passers by and shout "USA! USA!".

nathanjizzle
06-05-2012, 09:59 AM
texas a&m millwad :roll: :roll: :roll: this kid is going to be lost.

ace23
06-05-2012, 10:08 AM
Will you be hooping for the school?

bagelred
06-05-2012, 10:31 AM
Moving to Texas? Prepare to be unenlightened.

Oh, and buy some bigger clothing.......be prepared to gain 30 - 50 pounds.

QUIZZLE
06-05-2012, 10:32 AM
Be ready for some of the best barbecue in your life. Bring warm clothes as Houston gets icy compared to Sweden.

Nah, I wish you luck man. I'm studying abroad right now and am going home in less than a month. You'll have a great time.

millwad
06-05-2012, 10:38 AM
Will you be hooping for the school?

Nope, I can't.
I have a contract with a swedish club and even though the swedish first league is a low-level league it made me non-eligible. It sucks, especially considering that I've barely made a profit by playing in the league.