PDA

View Full Version : Anyone work at a YMCA camp?

enayes
07-18-2015, 11:20 PM
I have a Bachelors in Childhood Ed. and a Master's in Special Ed. but I have decided I do not want to be a teacher, at least right now.

I am considering applying for some Director/Leadership roles at YMCA camps. Does anyone work at one or have an experience/advice to offer? :D

Any other job recommendations would be great too, I am also looking at working with at-risk youth/juveniles in some capacity.

Solidape
07-18-2015, 11:54 PM
I have a Bachelors in Childhood Ed. and a Master's in Special Ed. but I have decided I do not want to be a teacher, at least right now.

I am considering applying for some Director/Leadership roles at YMCA camps. Does anyone work at one or have an experience/advice to offer? :D

Any other job recommendations would be great too, I am also looking at working with at-risk youth/juveniles in some capacity.

I used to work at the YMCA summer camps for many years, was an Awesome job, but I didn't have much responsibility other than play sports with the kids which was a good way to stay in shape.

I was doing this while going to university so it was just a part time job that I enjoyed, would still be doing it if it paid like engineering, but it was a minimum wage job.

sundizz
07-18-2015, 11:55 PM
Lol you did all that so you could work at the Y :roll: :roll:

ISHGoat
07-18-2015, 11:58 PM
Lol you did all that so you could work at the Y :roll: :roll:
:lol :lol :lol

OP if you have a masters in education look into a government position or something that sounds better than "i play basketball with kids at the Y"

Also you probably wont get a director position unless you got a bunch of experience.

DeuceWallaces
07-19-2015, 12:10 AM
You could teach the at risk kids how to steal, and look for career advice on basketball message boards.

DCL
07-19-2015, 12:24 AM
aim higher

KendrickPerkins
07-19-2015, 12:29 AM
The chances you work with a cute chick are extremely high.