PDA

View Full Version : Meal prep ideas

verylegit
12-28-2015, 09:52 PM
Anyone prepare their meals ahead of time? Specifically those are pursuing weight loss or weight gain?

Been looking at youtube videos, but some of these people are too lavish. I'm an average cook, not chef Ramsey :lol

I'm aware of the 3 macronutrients: protein, carbs and fat.

My shopping list:
Whole Milk
Chicken breast
Eggs
Veggies - looking at going to a farmers market and picking up veggies there

hateraid
12-28-2015, 10:26 PM
Flax seed oil
Avacodo
Red peppers
Brown rice/ Red Thai rice (more nutrients)
Broccoli
Pepper for seasoning

verylegit
12-28-2015, 10:27 PM
Flax seed oil
Avacodo
Red peppers
Brown rice/ Red Thai rice (more nutrients)
Broccoli
Pepper for seasoning
In your opinion, is red thai rice more tastier?

hateraid
12-28-2015, 10:33 PM
In your opinion, is red thai rice more tastier?

Rice is bland either way. What I would do is instead of flax seed oil, use coconut oil and mix in the avocado. But the choice is based on nutrients not taste. White to me is the best but too starchy. You can use parbroil which will have less starch. Black rice is the most nutrient dense but so expensive

outbreak
12-28-2015, 10:44 PM
I don't pre prepare meals but i pre plan what i'm making for the next few days usually. Easy things to keep on hand are chicken breast and some marinades\herbs to grill it with and some of the quick heat up rice cups of whatever rice you like. Maybe some of the steam bag vegies too if you are going for a quick meal and don't want to cook your own. We will do things like make a slow cooker stew and freeze some though for through out the week when we cbf cooking. Preparing your own meals isn't hard if you plan what you are doing ahead.

verylegit
12-28-2015, 11:04 PM
Thanks guys.

Going to the gym is the easy part, the nutrition, which is the most important part, is also the most difficult.

outbreak
12-28-2015, 11:05 PM
Thanks guys.