PDA

View Full Version : Enough Using Skill to Rank Players!

dankok8
07-25-2016, 04:30 PM
I am tired of seeing people judge players based on skill. Enough with "Hakeem is better than Shaq" or "Kobe is better than Jordan"... Enough already. Skill doesn't make you a basketball player. Skill helps you maximize your physical attributes to get results on the court. It is but a means to an end. Results matter not how you obtain them!

Let me explain with a personal story. I have been playing basketball since 14 years old for what is now 14 years! I am 5'11'' 170 lbs, an excellent sprinter with a good first step but little jumping ability and raw strength. I have been through a few basketball camps and put in thousands of hours in the gym and on the courts. I can shoot 70-80% from the free throw line, I can dribble the ball pretty well, I can finish well around the basket, and I have been called a pesky hard-nosed defender with a lot of competitive drive and excellent endurance.

I have a buddy who I sometimes play pick-up games with. He is 6'1'' 250lbs with decent speed and athleticism though nothing extraordinary. He is actually a bit fat and out of shape. He played maybe one tenth as much as I did over his life and his dribbling, shooting etc. are nowhere near my level. When he's out playing, his effort is inconsistent and he kind of wings it. When we play one-on-one I can beat him but I have trouble with it. His strength and size is overpowering and even with all my advantages it's tough.