PDA

View Full Version : Zion is underwhelming

90sgoat
02-03-2019, 08:53 PM
I just watched Duke vs Wake Forest, so I am now an expert on Zion.

Here's my take:

Primitive ball player with decent bball IQ and very good athleticism.

His post game, while better than Lebrons, is still bottom tier at the NBA level. He is going to get blocked A LOT when he tries that back down finger roll (really more of a "whatever works hail mary move").

Reminds me A LOT of Julius Randle except a more willing passer. He just bumbles into the paint by sheer force and then looks to pass out/to backdoor cut, when the defense collapses.

His size is largely wasted on the wing. No need to be that big as a perimeter player. Doesn't use his size on the wing. Should play post, but doesn't have the game.

Conclusion:

Zion won't be a star unless he develops an elite post game to back down smaller defenders.

SouBeachTalents
02-03-2019, 09:02 PM
We know

hiphopanonymous
02-03-2019, 09:06 PM
A finger roll out of the post is far from a whatever hail mary move... Karl Malone crushed it on the left block with basically identical size / strength of Zion using that move only he didn't jump as high.

Wilt's go to "inside turn" move as well, off of either block.

Malone and Wilt did it.

One of them hail married their way to the best scorer in NBA history the other is #2 all-time in points.

Jabbar, McHale, and a litany of others did the finger roll out of the post as an option. That's a nice move so long as he understands the timing and at the college level he seems to. The idea is to beat the defender with quickness on the jump after you've used strength to find your spot - it really can work well. Most bigs don't have the touch to combine with the strength.

FireDavidKahn
02-03-2019, 09:08 PM
LOL.