PDA

View Full Version : What makes Tim Duncan better then Karl Malone?

TAZORAC
03-11-2022, 01:34 PM
Malone is never talked about with the greatest players of all time and I don't understand why. Other then the championships (which is a TEAM achievement) what really makes Duncan better then Malone?

j3lademaster
03-11-2022, 01:35 PM
Defense.

ShawkFactory
03-11-2022, 01:36 PM
The little things. Rotational defense, making the right pass at the right time, getting the big rebound, playing completely egoless.

I'd much rather have him on my team.

TAZORAC
03-11-2022, 01:36 PM
Defense.

He had better defense, Malone was more efficient on offense.

TAZORAC
03-11-2022, 01:37 PM
The little things. Rotational defense, making the right pass at the right time, getting the big rebound, playing completely egoless.

I'd much rather have him on my team.

If I was a coach, I would actually try to play Malone at the 3

Kblaze8855
03-11-2022, 01:43 PM
Positional help defense, reaching his sweet spot between athletic peak and offensive polish much much earlier in his career to maximize his teams true contention, and not being a scumbag.

jayfan
03-11-2022, 01:47 PM
If the two had switched teams, would the fate of either team have changed?

Maybe not.

ShawkFactory
03-11-2022, 01:49 PM

Maybe not.

I don't think the Spurs win 5 championships with Malone.

bizil
03-11-2022, 01:50 PM
Tim brought a dominant interior center's TWO WAY shit to the PF position. If u lined up Duncan on a peak-prime level SOLELY against centers, only Wilt, Cap, Hakeem, and Shaq FOR SURE would be superior. With the way Embid and Joker is coming on, maybe them too at some point. From there, Tim had some the NEW AGE PF qualities as well. Tim had great handle for his size. He had the midrange game with the fakes, footwork, etc. And he EVEN played some SF in Pop's triple tower lineup with the Admiral at PF and Perdue at center. Tim MADE THAT WORK because he could play AND defend SF at times.