[QUOTE=Fatal9]you know we can't have a footwork thread without this guy...
[IMG]http://i53.tinypic.com/r1yfiw.jpg[/IMG]
mobley goes weeeeeee[/QUOTE]
Dat was PERFECT! I mean :bowdown: :bowdown: :bowdown:
Printable View
[QUOTE=Fatal9]you know we can't have a footwork thread without this guy...
[IMG]http://i53.tinypic.com/r1yfiw.jpg[/IMG]
mobley goes weeeeeee[/QUOTE]
Dat was PERFECT! I mean :bowdown: :bowdown: :bowdown:
[QUOTE=wpdougie2180]He actually goes 1,2 step threw 3 but your just ignoring 2 like it does't exist[/QUOTE]His 1 is his pivot foot. Then what you consider a second step is a jab. If he wanted he could do 50 jabs while his pivot foot is still stationary. That would still be one step.
When he planted his right foot forward it's still not a step until he lifted his pivot foot. When he lifts his pivot, the "jab" automatically became his second step. That's when the rule book comes in and says you can lift your pivot but you have to shoot or pass before it comes back down. If you put your original pivot down, it becomes the third step.
[QUOTE=gengiskhan]by studying MJ's game 1995-1998. MJ did stuff like this frequently which was very close to travel. But this one is travel.[/QUOTE]
:oldlol:
Quit hanging off MJ's nuts, they're about to scrape the sidewalk.
[IMG]http://www.gifsoup.com/view5/2785402/kobe-falls-o.gif[/IMG]
:oldlol:
[QUOTE=millwad][IMG]http://www.gifsoup.com/view5/2785402/kobe-falls-o.gif[/IMG][/QUOTE]
LOL ... I almost forgot completely about that ... mimmicking MJ no less.
:oldlol:
Kobe stans win!
[QUOTE=millwad][IMG]http://www.gifsoup.com/view5/2785402/kobe-falls-o.gif[/IMG][/QUOTE]
notice the tongue coming out when Kobe is just about to fall.
Why would you further mimick MJ when the initial mimick didnt work. :facepalm
[QUOTE=Phong]Yeah technically you don't change pivot, you just travel.
Travel:
[img]http://nsa28.casimages.com/img/2011/06/28/1106280538585913.gif[/img]
What he does is pick up his dribble and plant his pivot (1) as his first step. He pivots, then when he lifts his pivot foot, the non-pivot foot becomes the second step (2). So far according to the rule, everything is fine as long as he passes or shoot now.
Since he plants his original pivot back down with the ball still in his hands, he took his third step (3). He should be called for a travel right there. When he spins around and jumps he took a fourth step (4).
Legal play: 2 steps
[img]http://nsa28.casimages.com/img/2011/06/28/110628060934110142.gif[/img]
That's the way I would logically count the steps. If somebody has another interpretation.[/QUOTE]In the NBA if you switch you pivot foot, it is a travel. That gif is a travel on the basis of a player's pivot foot being swtiched. You either have to jump of both feet after a move, or off your pivot foot you cant take another step. You are misreading that 'piont of emphasis' and your argument is nothing more than sophistry.
[QUOTE=ImmortalD24]In the NBA if you switch you pivot foot, it is a travel. That gif is a travel on the basis of a player's pivot foot being swtiched. You either have to jump of both feet after a move, or off your pivot foot you cant take another step. You are misreading that 'piont of emphasis' and your argument is nothing more than sophistry.[/QUOTE]
It is only possible to have one pivot foot.
[QUOTE=ImmortalD24]In the NBA if you switch you pivot foot, it is a travel. That gif is a travel on the basis of a player's pivot foot being swtiched. You either have to jump of both feet after a move, or off your pivot foot you cant take another step. You are misreading that 'piont of emphasis' and your argument is nothing more than sophistry.[/QUOTE]
Yea that Gif is a travel. If he leaped off 2 feet it wouldn't have been he lifts his pivot foot therefore it's a travel. I mean honestly it's no different really than taking 2 steps in motion and jumping off one leg, but once you have come to a stop, you can't lift that pivot foot.
[QUOTE=ImmortalD24]In the NBA if you switch you pivot foot, it is a travel. That gif is a travel on the basis of a player's pivot foot being swtiched. You either have to jump of both feet after a move, or off your pivot foot you cant take another step. You are misreading that 'piont of emphasis' and your argument is nothing more than sophistry.[/QUOTE]Show me one single reliable source that says it is a travel. 24 pages and nobody has been able to provide a single evidence; only some guys saying [I]"believe me it is a travel"[/I].
According to the rule book and multiple videos posted in the previous pages, this is a legal move. If you looked at the video where the "point of emphasis" was taken from, you would know there is no misreading anything. The video was made for officials, the play is explained step-by-step and considered legal.
[QUOTE=ImmortalD24]In the NBA if you switch you pivot foot, it is a travel. That gif is a travel on the basis of a player's pivot foot being swtiched. You either have to jump of both feet after a move, or off your pivot foot you cant take another step. You are misreading that 'piont of emphasis' and your argument is nothing more than sophistry.[/QUOTE]
No.
and
[quote]Yea that Gif is a travel. If he leaped off 2 feet it wouldn't have been he lifts his pivot foot therefore it's a travel. I mean honestly it's no different really than taking 2 steps in motion and jumping off one leg, but once you have come to a stop, you can't lift that pivot foot.[/quote]
No.
You can lift your pivot foot off the ground, but you can not place it back on the ground until you pass/shoot or lose the ball.
go to nba.com read the rules it's there, it was also quoted earlier on in this thread.
The refs make up w.e rules they want though.
[url]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KuoiNst5_ag&feature=related[/url]
Lebron amazing footwork.I dont have the gif :oldlol:
[img]http://nsa28.casimages.com/img/2011/06/28/110628060934110142.gif[/img]
From the NBA rule book Rule No. 4--Definitions, Section VIII--Pivot
A pivot takes place when a player, who is holding the ball, steps once or more than once in any direction with the same foot, with the other foot (pivot foot) in contact with the floor. Using the video, the pivot is marked as #1.
If the player wishes to dribble after a pivot, [B]the ball must be out of his hand before the pivot foot is raised off the floor.[/B] If the player raises his pivot off the floor, (which in the video he clearly raises #1 off the floor, as the jab step comes down marked as #2) he must pass or attempt a field goal before the foot is returned to the floor. If he fails to follow these guidelines, he has committed a traveling violation.
Notice in the video that the shot goes up before #1 returns to the floor. It doesn't matter if #2 is used as a jab step and is placed on the ground or if it gets jumped off of, or if #1and#2 are both jumped off of. As long as the ball is out of the players hands before the established pivot (#1) hits the floor again it is not a traveling violation.
This is a step though move, it is completely legal, and regardless if it's pulled off a reverse pivot or not, the mechanics are the same.
Phong is correct.
As for the confusion on the jump stop, a player drives to the basket, gathers the ball early, clearly jumps off one foot and lands simultaneously with both feet (jump stop). What are his options?
The player may jump to pass or shoot but is not allowed to pivot or “step through”.