NBA Legend and Hall of Famer 1987_Lakers's Avatar

Default Anyone here know anything about cars?

I got a fuel injection cleaning a couple of days ago, but right after I got it my check engine light came on, I got it checked and the code po420 came out. I took it to a mechanic and he said I need a new catalytic converter (God I hope not). I did some research online and found that most people who had a check engine light come on after a fuel cleaning turned out to be the 02 sensor was the problem (also triggers a po420 code). Any mechanics on ISH?

Love Live Life

Default Re: Anyone here know anything about cars?

Get it looked at again and then fix the sensor. If it still says the same thing then it might be the converter.

What kind of car is it? There's a lot of forums online now with great info

I'm no expert, but does your check engine light come and go?

When my o2 sensor went bad my check engine light would pop up, then go away when I shut my car off and restarted it

I would change the o2 sensor first either way

Banned

It might help if you posted the model and year of the car unless its a Ford, I wouldnt drive a ford if it was given to me for free

NBA Legend and Hall of Famer 1987_Lakers's Avatar

05 toyota corolla

High School Varsity 6th Man moaz's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by 1987_Lakers
    I got a fuel injection cleaning a couple of days ago, but right after I got it my check engine light came on, I got it checked and the code po420 came out. I took it to a mechanic and he said I need a new catalytic converter (God I hope not). I did some research online and found that most people who had a check engine light come on after a fuel cleaning turned out to be the 02 sensor was the problem (also triggers a po420 code). Any mechanics on ISH?
    Pray for you.

I had to change 2 of the 3 cat converters on my Mazda Tribute last month. It was $1800 CAD with huge discount form my mechanic. The 2 parts alone would have been $2700 from Mazda.