Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Any 'essential' workers here?

Default Any 'essential' workers here?

Curious to learn about what everyone does here but focusing on those that fit the category of essential.

The economy is at an all time low. I'm considered an essential worker because I'm a case manager for a shelter. My wife works at a hospital in NYC. We're both still working and while some days for the both of us might be remote work it feels good knowing my paycheck is still secured.

That's the only thing keeping me at this job still. Financial security through these times.

While I'm still making larger purchases and spending because I have income coming in, I could only imagine the people that aren't in that situation.

My father is a diesel mechanic for a concrete company and while he makes good money ($140k+) he is seeing reduced hours and days. He's even considering unemployment. He has a house to still pay off and I could feel that fear everyone else is seeing with payments needing to be made on a monthly basis. His tenants are also now unemployed and will be collecting unemployment soon but seeing how they'd be able to pay for rent is the tricky part.

All of my IT friends are home being paid. One in particular is secured because it's a huge company (Outbrain), for the rest I'm unsure whether they'd close down indefinitely.

Anyone else here an essential worker?

NBA Legend and Hall of Famer tpols's Avatar

Default Re: Any 'essential' workers here?

most corporate workers are essential. just wfh.

walmarts, targets, fast foods chains, delivery services UPS, Fedex, Amazon, etc. still running great.

its really all the small business and service industries that are getting hammered.

my wife an hospice RN

soundcloud.com/agua-1 andgar923's Avatar