Message Board Basketball Forum - InsideHoops

Go Back   Message Board Basketball Forum - InsideHoops > InsideHoops Main Basketball Forums > Off the Court Lounge

Off the Court Lounge Basketball fans talk about everything EXCEPT basketball here

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-22-2009, 02:32 PM   #16
intrinsic
Local High School Star
 
intrinsic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,518
Default Re: PC Problemo

Quote:
Originally Posted by catzhernandez
Where do I check my temps?

Depending on ur bios limitations, you should be able to check there. SpeedFan is what I've known ppl to use as a software alternative.
intrinsic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2009, 02:34 PM   #17
Rockbttm88
There is no dark side
 
Rockbttm88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 392
Default Re: PC Problemo

Quote:
Originally Posted by catzhernandez
Beautiful, you guys are helping me out a lot here.

At least I know I'm not being eatin up by a virus or something.

I never said that

But seriously, you'll be fine. It's better that you can fix it now since your motherboard hasnt completely fried. Also, if you have the case open... make sure all the fans are working. Some of them may be hard to see (like the ones on video cards) so fold up a piece of paper and lightly touch the blades with it.
Rockbttm88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2009, 02:34 PM   #18
catzhernandez
Underrated
 
catzhernandez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Area 31
Posts: 16,323
Default Re: PC Problemo

Quote:
Originally Posted by quasimoto
If you don't have a pre-installed app you should try Everest: http://www.softpedia.com/get/System/...-Edition.shtml
I have no clue what to do with this program now. lol
catzhernandez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2009, 02:35 PM   #19
Sanity
I know from experience
 
Sanity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2,798
Default Re: PC Problemo

Quote:
Originally Posted by catzhernandez
Did it restart? Shut down?

When it rebooted did you get an option for safe mode like it was shut down hard? Cuz mine just looks like a restart, like I did it myself.

It would just restart. Sometimes it would do it as it was booting the home screen sometimes when I started an app. It could be 100 things though thats what sucks about cpu's. The hard yet kinda funny part now that I look back on it was the fact that I would be browsing the net trying to figure out the problem and it would keep restarting. At the time I would get so pissed but I look back now and think "yep thats basically my luck."
Sanity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2009, 02:39 PM   #20
intrinsic
Local High School Star
 
intrinsic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,518
Default Re: PC Problemo

Quote:
Originally Posted by quasimoto
Reboots can have many causes. Could be the temperature, or maybe one of your ram sticks is broken. In the worst case your CPU is dying.
Yup. Testing the RAM would be the next step in the process. Open your computer case (2 screws on the right hand side -- looking from the back -- should allow the entire rightside panel to be removed) Remove the RAM leaving one stick, and repeat, until you find the one that is failing. Don't forget to ground yourself first!
intrinsic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2009, 02:41 PM   #21
catzhernandez
Underrated
 
catzhernandez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Area 31
Posts: 16,323
Default Re: PC Problemo

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rockbttm88
I never said that

But seriously, you'll be fine. It's better that you can fix it now since your motherboard hasnt completely fried. Also, if you have the case open... make sure all the fans are working. Some of them may be hard to see (like the ones on video cards) so fold up a piece of paper and lightly touch the blades with it.
I seem to have only 2 fans in it. They're big ones, and both work...

One is on the back of the CPU like normal, the other is inside, right behind my drives and stuff...
catzhernandez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2009, 02:41 PM   #22
catzhernandez
Underrated
 
catzhernandez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Area 31
Posts: 16,323
Default Re: PC Problemo

Quote:
Originally Posted by intrinsic
Yup. Testing the RAM would be the next step in the process. Open your computer case (2 screws on the right hand side -- looking from the back -- should allow the entire rightside panel to be removed) Remove the RAM leaving one stick, and repeat, until you find the one that is failing. Don't forget to ground yourself first!
Take out the RAM while it's running???
catzhernandez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2009, 02:43 PM   #23
quasimoto
Banned
 
quasimoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,562
Default Re: PC Problemo

Quote:
Originally Posted by catzhernandez
I have no clue what to do with this program now. lol
Go to 'Computer' on the left, then 'Sensors'. Don't know if it's the same in English but it should be.
quasimoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2009, 02:45 PM   #24
catzhernandez
Underrated
 
catzhernandez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Area 31
Posts: 16,323
Default Re: PC Problemo

Quote:
Originally Posted by quasimoto
Go to 'Computer' on the left, then 'Sensors'. Don't know if it's the same in English but it should be.
Okay it's there...
catzhernandez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2009, 02:45 PM   #25
intrinsic
Local High School Star
 
intrinsic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,518
Default Re: PC Problemo

Quote:
Originally Posted by catzhernandez
Take out the RAM while it's running???

No. You remove the RAM with your machine off and start it when you place the one stick.
intrinsic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2009, 02:47 PM   #26
catzhernandez
Underrated
 
catzhernandez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Area 31
Posts: 16,323
Default Re: PC Problemo

Quote:
Originally Posted by intrinsic
No. You remove the RAM with your machine off and start it when you place the one stick.
That was dumb question by me.

And if one of the sticks don't work? Basically asking, how could that be the prob?
catzhernandez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2009, 02:57 PM   #27
intrinsic
Local High School Star
 
intrinsic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,518
Default Re: PC Problemo

Quote:
Originally Posted by catzhernandez
That was dumb question by me.

And if one of the sticks don't work? Basically asking, how could that be the prob?

RAM isn't req'd by the cpu to boot bc cpu accesses the hdd. If your computer is failing while you work, RAM could be the issue since the cpu is reading/writing data constantly from/to RAM. Each time the computer is shut down or restarted the data in RAM is gone.
intrinsic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2009, 03:01 PM   #28
catzhernandez
Underrated
 
catzhernandez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Area 31
Posts: 16,323
Default Re: PC Problemo

Quote:
Originally Posted by intrinsic
RAM isn't req'd by the cpu to boot bc cpu accesses the hdd. If your computer is failing while you work, RAM could be the issue since the cpu is reading/writing data constantly from/to RAM. Each time the computer is shut down or restarted the data in RAM is gone.


I think I'm gonna be able to fix this thanks to you guys.

Much appreciated.
catzhernandez is offline   Reply With Quote
This NBA Basketball News Website Sponsored by:


Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:46 PM.






NBA BASKETBALL FORUM KEY LINKS:

NBA Basketball

NBA Rumors

Basketball Blog

NBA Videos

Search Site

FOLLOW US
Twitter
Facebook
Instagram
YouTube
















Powered by vBulletin Version 3.5.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. Terms of Use/Service | Privacy Policy