I thought that you only get a pivot after taking 1 step, if you take two steps your second step is your pivot no?
edit: I meant the second step makes the foot that's not stepping the pivot foot, obviously the foot that's taking the step can't be the pivot foot.
How I see is the 2nd step is the pivot foot. The same foot that you leap off of when you take two steps and jump. It can't be the 1st step as pivot since otherwise you won't be able to take a 2nd step and leap with one foot.
When you do a jump stop, either foot can be your pivot.
You're allowed to declare either foot your pivot foot after a hop step and make any normal fakes/moves off of that foot that you would usually do (up fake, up and under, reverse pivots etc.). So that's incorrect of you to think.
Also, you're "allowed" (i.e., not sure if it's totally legit by the rules, but players do it and get away with it) to take a step and a half after a "short" hop step. This is very hard to explain, but guys like Jordan and Kobe have done and do this once in a while. I'll try to find some video.