Originally Posted by QUIZZLE
I saw at least three helmet to helmet hits in the Bengals Rams game yesterday that weren't called.... why?
Well, probably because it was the Bengals vs Rams but still bullshit.
A lot of it has to do with the position of the player who is hit. If the player is deemed defenseless (as McCoy was in this instance), then the NFL is going to drop the hammer and it will be a flag. However, if the helmet-to-helmet contact comes on a runner who isn't in a defenseless position (throwing the ball, catching a pass over the middle, etc.), then it is a legal hit...
(g) If a player uses any part of his helmet (including the top/crown and forehead/”hairline” parts) or
facemask to butt, spear, or ram an opponent violently or unnecessarily.
(h) any player who grabs a helmet opening of an opponent and forcibly twists, turns, or pulls his head.
(i) Illegal contact with the helmet against the knee of the snapper during an attempt for a field goal or
(j) if a player illegally launches into a defenseless opponent. It is an illegal launch if a player (1) leaves
both feet prior to contact to spring forward and upward into his opponent, and (2) uses any part of his
helmet (including the top/crown and forehead/”hairline” parts) to initiate forcible contact against any
part of his opponent’s body.
Note: This does not apply to contact against a runner, unless the runner is still considered to be a defenseless
player, as defined in Rule 12, Section 2, Article 9.
All helmet-to-helmet collisions ARE NOT illegal.