Message Board Basketball Forum - InsideHoops


Go Back   Message Board Basketball Forum - InsideHoops > InsideHoops Main Basketball Forums > Off the Court Lounge

Off the Court Lounge Basketball fans talk about everything EXCEPT basketball here

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-22-2019, 05:40 PM   #1
Meticode
Cavaliers Fan 1997
 
Meticode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 35,718
Default Anyone Tried Stadia Yet?

I purchased the Founder's Edition pack last June. While the launch was rocky on the 19th with the invite code fail, after I finally got my code 32 hours after I received my package it's worked pretty well for me.

There is slight more latency versus a PC of console for me. It's just barely noticeable for the average user, but the game is still completely playable and enjoyable. Destiny 2, Samurai Showdown, NBA 2K20 and Red Dead Redemption II for me. I would say respectively it's around 50% slower. So if you're latency input is 50 milliseconds on your button push on PC/Console, I would say with Stadia it's at 75 or 100 milliseconds for an example. In most cases it isn't even noticeable in the types of games I play. For FPS games I feel this would matter a lot though.

For a launch of basically beta testing I'm impressed honestly.

Right now the biggest things they need to work on is the visual quality and artifacting. If you play on PC/Laptop it only goes up to 1080p (which is fine for me), input studdering and visual artifacts are way more alive there. On Chromecast I don't have any studdering at all, but i have Ethernet hooked up to it as well.

Playing Red Dead Redemption 2 on a phone is interesting...

P.S. - My internet is 100mb download, 15mb upload through Spectrum.
Meticode is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2019, 05:46 PM   #2
highwhey
Valley Boyz
 
highwhey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 21,638
Default Re: Anyone Tried Stadia Yet?

an inherent problem of cloud base gaming will always be latency bc of the amount of servers/switches between the end user and server. i supposed it's not a significant issue for non-fps games however.

interesting idea imo. i know nvidia has something similar going on and it's free. i almost exclusively play FPS games tho.
highwhey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2019, 09:18 PM   #3
BarberSchool
College star
 
BarberSchool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Spelunking Luncheon
Posts: 3,883
Default Re: Anyone Tried Stadia Yet?

Stadia is stillborn af.
BarberSchool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2019, 10:34 PM   #4
jstern
NBA rookie of the year
 
jstern's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 6,522
Default Re: Anyone Tried Stadia Yet?

How much CPU is it using up in the Windows Task Manager? (Ctrl + Shift + Esc).

And what's the model number of your CPU?
jstern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2019, 12:19 AM   #5
Meticode
Cavaliers Fan 1997
 
Meticode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 35,718
Default Re: Anyone Tried Stadia Yet?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jstern
How much CPU is it using up in the Windows Task Manager? (Ctrl + Shift + Esc).

And what's the model number of your CPU?
I have a low-end Acer that was $350. I upgraded the main slave drive to be a m.2 Samsung SSD and I run Windows and all the programs off of that.

12GB RAM

Intel i3-7100U @ 2.4 Ghz

When RDR2 is running on Stadia in the Chrome browser, Chrome uses about 700MB of memory and uses about 25-35% of the CPU. constantly. As far as I can tell it doesn't spike to 100% ever, just constantly between 25-35%, 40% max.

Something I find interesting is the game is way more responsive on the laptop versus the Chromecast. Probably because the controller has to be wired to the laptop. But it feels pretty damn close to console when it's wired as far as latency is concerned. But the quality of the game on Chromecast visually is way better.

The only issues I have is sometimes on the laptop it studders or skips, and you can see artifacting sometimes, but it's completely playable for what it is on a under-powered Acer E5 laptop that's a budget laptop.
Meticode is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2019, 07:59 PM   #6
Overdrive
Great college starter
 
Overdrive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 3,645
Default Re: Anyone Tried Stadia Yet?

Correct me if I'm wrong, but this basically opens a remote connection where you play on a GUI of a serverfarm?

Right, as if google isn't intruding privacy enough already.
Overdrive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2019, 08:19 PM   #7
scuzzy
Yellow King
 
scuzzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Carcosa
Posts: 13,268
Default Re: Anyone Tried Stadia Yet?

fck that shit until they roll out Fibre everywhere


we paid for that in our taxes a decade ago and they have done nothing but stalled laying it
scuzzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2019, 08:21 PM   #8
highwhey
Valley Boyz
 
highwhey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 21,638
Default Re: Anyone Tried Stadia Yet?

Quote:
Originally Posted by scuzzy
fck that shit until they roll out Fibre everywhere


we paid for that in our taxes a decade ago and they have done nothing but stalled laying it
american ISP's committed highway robbery right under our eyes.

1st world nation, 3rd world internet connection
highwhey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2019, 08:41 PM   #9
scuzzy
Yellow King
 
scuzzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Carcosa
Posts: 13,268
Default Re: Anyone Tried Stadia Yet?

Quote:
Originally Posted by highwhey
american ISP's committed highway robbery right under our eyes.

1st world nation, 3rd world internet connection
I pay out the ass for COX high speed and it'a an inconsistent jumpy 100mb-200mb even with a Netgear Nighthawk router

But the options are so limited by region it's like you have no choice but to pull your pants down and run backwards through the cornfield
scuzzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2019, 08:45 PM   #10
highwhey
Valley Boyz
 
highwhey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 21,638
Default Re: Anyone Tried Stadia Yet?

Quote:
Originally Posted by scuzzy
I pay out the ass for COX high speed and it'a an inconsistent jumpy 100mb-200mb even with a Netgear Nighthawk router

But the options are so limited by region it's like you have no choice but to pull your pants down and run backwards through the cornfield
Ha, i also have COX. Definitely inconsistent connection. Another competitor is rolling out fiber tho, should be good for the consumer.

COX fought hard to keep Google Fiber out of Arizona.
highwhey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2019, 08:49 PM   #11
scuzzy
Yellow King
 
scuzzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Carcosa
Posts: 13,268
Default Re: Anyone Tried Stadia Yet?

Quote:
Originally Posted by highwhey
Ha, i also have COX. Definitely inconsistent connection. Another competitor is rolling out fiber tho, should be good for the consumer.

COX fought hard to keep Google Fiber out of Arizona.
What's crazy around me is that Cleveland has fibre, but it's mostly commercial specific.


So 1/8 mile down the road has it because of the one bank on the corner, but my street doesn't
scuzzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2019, 09:13 PM   #12
qrich
King Heno
 
qrich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Tucson/520!
Posts: 24,746
Default Re: Anyone Tried Stadia Yet?

Stadia Gon die like OneLive
qrich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2019, 09:20 PM   #13
Meticode
Cavaliers Fan 1997
 
Meticode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 35,718
Default Re: Anyone Tried Stadia Yet?

I'm not even on fiber myself. Just regular cable internet at 100/15 download/upload. Just got down playing 2K20 on my TV then going to my laptop without missing anything.
Meticode is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2019, 11:11 AM   #14
sammichoffate
Land o' Lakes
 
sammichoffate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 7,210
Default Re: Anyone Tried Stadia Yet?

I use a steam link at home to play on my tv currently, I wonder if something like this would be worth it.
sammichoffate is offline   Reply With Quote
This NBA Basketball News Website Sponsored by:




Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:44 AM.






NBA BASKETBALL FORUM KEY LINKS:

InsideHoops.com Home

NBA Rumors

Basketball Blog

NBA Daily Roundup

NBA Scores

NBA Stats

NBA Videos

NBA Free Agents

Fantasy Basketball

Basketball Sneakers

Search Site

STAY CONNECTED
Twitter
Facebook
Instagram
YouTube
















Powered by vBulletin Version 3.5.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. Terms of Use/Service | Privacy Policy