Message Board Basketball Forum - InsideHoops

Go Back   Message Board Basketball Forum - InsideHoops > InsideHoops Main Basketball Forums > Streetball Forum

Streetball Forum Streetball Message Board - street basketball and streetball forum

Old 03-05-2010, 01:11 AM   #1
Shoo
Can barely lace up my sneakers

Shoo has an OK reputation so far
Default Can playing at too high of a level be bad for you?

I'm not good at basketball. Let's put it at that. I didn't start playing regularly until two summers ago. Then I took the whole winter off. Then I started playing again this past summer.

I used to play with friends. They were mostly better than me, but not so much better that I was useless.

This winter, I've been playing with another group of people that are way above and beyond my level. I feel pretty useless and my pride was shot. I felt like on defense, they would let me get my shot off and I'd still miss. I felt like my teammates secretly wished I wasn't on their team because my team would pretty much lose every single game.

I was about to give up.

But then I played one more game with them, and this time a NEW guy came out. Except he was WORSE than me. He had a better shot, but he couldn't catch the ball, he turned the ball over, he couldn't rebound, and had no defense. We were matched up, and I was able to play some solid defense against him and score points.

Once I return to playing basketball with my regular group of friends this spring, we'll see if I actually got better from playing with a higher level of competition...

..but that feeling that you are the worst player on the court by far... Is not a good one, especially when you've been practicing everyday by yourself.
Shoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2010, 02:50 AM   #2
Swaggin916
Enter the Dragic

Swaggin916 has a terrific reputationSwaggin916 has a terrific reputationSwaggin916 has a terrific reputationSwaggin916 has a terrific reputationSwaggin916 has a terrific reputation