Message Board Basketball Forum - InsideHoops

Go Back   Message Board Basketball Forum - InsideHoops > InsideHoops Main Basketball Forums > Streetball Forum

Streetball Forum Streetball Message Board - street basketball and streetball forum

Old 09-12-2010, 03:30 AM   #1
lilojmayo
#lovethat32

Default What do you do when your constantly double teammed in the halfcourt?

I am starting to see double teams on an every game basis at the gym I play pick up ball at.

My team that I am on has been undefeated since I started playing there. 13-0. I just seem control the pace of the every game, and just have my way offensively and defensively it seems like.

Today i played 2 games. We play first to 11 baskets all 1 pointers. The first we won 11-7 I believe.

Then the 2nd game was much tougher competition, so I had to step it up a notch offensively. I had a jumper on the elbow off a curl, a bank shot off a down screen, and a jumper off a pick and roll. I was having my way with the defense had like 4-5 baskets off drives including one on a 1 on 1 fastbreak where i hit him with the Allen Iverson Killer Crossover and change pace so fast that his feet were glued to the floor then finished strong with a left handed dunk off of two feet that got some awes from the team that got next.

Anyway, we were up 9-6 I had 8 of my teams baskets. Then the other team started to adjust, I got the ball in my favorite spot about 17 feet out on the left wing, and then the double teamming started to happen. I didn’t force anything I kicked it out, then swung the ball. The same thing happen the next down, doubled kicked it out. The other team starts hitting their shots.

Then I stopped playing the way I wanted to play and tried to use myself as a decoy and just stand opposite the side of the ball on the baseline. We just couldn’t score . We blew the lead lost 11-9, first loss for me at that gym and I didn’t attempt a single shot during that stretch.