Message Board Basketball Forum - InsideHoops

Go Back   Message Board Basketball Forum - InsideHoops > InsideHoops Main Basketball Forums > Streetball Forum

Streetball Forum Streetball Message Board - street basketball and streetball forum

Old 02-07-2011, 12:59 PM   #1
01amberfirewv
Serious playground baller

Default Any tips for improving the mental aspects of the game

I'm probably older than most of the players on here and more than likely have less experience than the majority as well. I didn't ball in play highschool or even junior high school. In fact the only year I did play was 6th grade and I only played a few minutes a game and can probably count the points I scored on one hand. I started playing every Saturday over a year ago and have been working on getting better ever since. I am a pretty good ball handler, a decent shooter and a decent passer. I would be much better at all of them if I could quit making stupid mistakes though.

I have a hard time making the right decisions. I force passes and often times throw them too hard. When my passes work they are usually great but I am picked off a lot and even throw it right pass my teamate.

As I said I am a pretty good ball handler. I usually dribble too much but it seems like its pretty hard for defenders to take the ball from me despite that. Even if they knock the ball lose or hit it away I usually get it back. However it seems like I dribble the ball off my foot at least once every Saturday. This usually happens when I am not being guarded.

My shooting is alright when I am practicing but pretty streaky when playing especially from outside the arch. I'll make 4 or 5 in a row then miss 4 or 5. I also tend to shoot when I shouldn't an pass up good shots.

Any tips?
01amberfirewv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2011, 06:12 PM   #2
carpevicis
Decent playground baller

Default Re: Any tips for improving the mental aspects of the game