These ref are full of ****. There is no uncatchable rule for illegal contact!
thats not what he said, what he said was the ball was in the air while the contact occurred which meant that it couldnt be illegal contact. that is correct(and something the refs in the seahawks cowboys game would have done well to learn) but he didnt want to call PI for whatever reason.
if the ball is in the air you cant call illegal contact. it has to be PI or nothing.
Illegal Contact while the ball is in the air IS pass interference, though. I thought they did the right thing by not calling the PI because it looked to me like Wayne waited for the slightest contact and then took a dive, but the explantion didn't make much sense. If there is illegal contact while the ball is in the air, it IS PI... case closed.