the signaled touchdown on the field, and with how fast the play actually happened i can't blame them.
they watched the replay, and it looked like it could have gone either way.
multiple possession.... which means the ruling on the field stand.
people keep saying tate only had one arm in there, but it looks like he has two to me.
That's the thing though, it's not multiple possession. Jennings clearly had the ball with both his arms tucked to his chest. Tate had maybe one forearm on the ball then was able to gain partl joint control after Jennings already had control. Therefore it should've been an interception.
Plus the refs didn't even confer with each other. The normal refs would've conversed slightly and the head ref would've asked what the other ones saw. They did none of that. They just called it a bang-bang touchdown right there on the field which in any normal case they wouldn't of.
It appeared as if it was a clear interception to me, but I'm also not a football expert. Just from a logic standpoint, that's what it appeared to be.
I can relate to all of this though. Reminds me of the time Calvin Johnson made a game winning touchdown catch against Chicago two years ago. He caught it, placed both feet down on the ground, palmed the ball with his right hand in triumph, then stood up to celebrate after he fell down and it was ruled an incomplete pass: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kqAuFs6Deko
how is this a clear interception? both players caught the ball at the same time. just because it looks like jennings has more of the ball doesnt mean its technically an interception. The only reason it looks more like an interception is because jennings jumped higher, landed on top of tate, and had the ball to his chest. but theres no rule saying a player has caught the ball if he has the ball to his chest, jumps higher or how he lands. Both players caught the ball at the same time. tie goes to the offense.