Message Board Basketball Forum - InsideHoops

Go Back   Message Board Basketball Forum - InsideHoops > InsideHoops Main Basketball Forums > Off the Court Lounge

Off the Court Lounge Basketball fans talk about everything EXCEPT basketball here

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-14-2014, 11:52 AM   #1
unbreakable
National High School Star
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: rucker park
Posts: 2,429
unbreakable posts stuff that is definitely making some people angryunbreakable posts stuff that is definitely making some people angry
Default If my computer screen is scrambled, will a new graphics card work?

I plug my computer into my TV via computer monitor cable..

the screen turns on scrambled the past couple months and idk what to do. i want to use it again because it has my music software on there..

any idea what to do?
unbreakable is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2014, 12:00 PM   #2
dunksby
ISH's Scribbler
 
dunksby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 9,320
dunksby is considered a brilliant InsideHoops posterdunksby is considered a brilliant InsideHoops posterdunksby is considered a brilliant InsideHoops posterdunksby is considered a brilliant InsideHoops posterdunksby is considered a brilliant InsideHoops posterdunksby is considered a brilliant InsideHoops posterdunksby is considered a brilliant InsideHoops posterdunksby is considered a brilliant InsideHoops posterdunksby is considered a brilliant InsideHoops posterdunksby is considered a brilliant InsideHoops poster
Default Re: If my computer screen is scrambled, will a new graphics card work?

Could be your connecting cable (DVI/VGA), I plug my laptop to a screen as well and screen distortion have always been due to faulty cable.
dunksby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2014, 12:03 PM   #3
HomieWeMajor
Thinking we local
 
HomieWeMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Rewind to '89
Posts: 2,642
HomieWeMajor has a terrific reputationHomieWeMajor has a terrific reputationHomieWeMajor has a terrific reputationHomieWeMajor has a terrific reputationHomieWeMajor has a terrific reputation
Default Re: If my computer screen is scrambled, will a new graphics card work?

Try your motherboard's video output
HomieWeMajor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2014, 12:21 PM   #4
unbreakable
National High School Star
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: rucker park
Posts: 2,429
unbreakable posts stuff that is definitely making some people angryunbreakable posts stuff that is definitely making some people angry
Default Re: If my computer screen is scrambled, will a new graphics card work?

Quote:
Originally Posted by HomieWeMajor
Try your motherboard's video output

is something done manually with my hands? or do you mean once the computer is on, i should check settings ?
unbreakable is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2014, 12:33 PM   #5
dunksby
ISH's Scribbler
 
dunksby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 9,320
dunksby is considered a brilliant InsideHoops posterdunksby is considered a brilliant InsideHoops posterdunksby is considered a brilliant InsideHoops posterdunksby is considered a brilliant InsideHoops posterdunksby is considered a brilliant InsideHoops posterdunksby is considered a brilliant InsideHoops posterdunksby is considered a brilliant InsideHoops posterdunksby is considered a brilliant InsideHoops posterdunksby is considered a brilliant InsideHoops posterdunksby is considered a brilliant InsideHoops poster
Default Re: If my computer screen is scrambled, will a new graphics card work?

Quote:
Originally Posted by unbreakable
is something done manually with my hands? or do you mean once the computer is on, i should check settings ?
Does it have HDMI output? Use an HDMI cable to connect and see if it's still messed up.
dunksby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2014, 12:52 PM   #6
unbreakable
National High School Star
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: rucker park
Posts: 2,429
unbreakable posts stuff that is definitely making some people angryunbreakable posts stuff that is definitely making some people angry
Default Re: If my computer screen is scrambled, will a new graphics card work?

Quote:
Originally Posted by dunksby
Does it have HDMI output? Use an HDMI cable to connect and see if it's still messed up.

no hdmi input...

i did buy a new monitor cable recently as you suggested but the problem is still there.. googling said it may be my graphics card but i figured id ask here too if anyone had experience with it
unbreakable is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2014, 01:20 PM   #7
KevinNYC
Toronto Mayor Rob Ford
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 8,709
KevinNYC is the Michael Jordan of posters with the best reputation imaginableKevinNYC is the Michael Jordan of posters with the best reputation imaginableKevinNYC is the Michael Jordan of posters with the best reputation imaginableKevinNYC is the Michael Jordan of posters with the best reputation imaginableKevinNYC is the Michael Jordan of posters with the best reputation imaginableKevinNYC is the Michael Jordan of posters with the best reputation imaginableKevinNYC is the Michael Jordan of posters with the best reputation imaginableKevinNYC is the Michael Jordan of posters with the best reputation imaginableKevinNYC is the Michael Jordan of posters with the best reputation imaginableKevinNYC is the Michael Jordan of posters with the best reputation imaginableKevinNYC is the Michael Jordan of posters with the best reputation imaginable
Default Re: If my computer screen is scrambled, will a new graphics card work?

Quote:
Originally Posted by unbreakable
I plug my computer into my TV via computer monitor cable..

the screen turns on scrambled the past couple months and idk what to do. i want to use it again because it has my music software on there..

any idea what to do?

This sounds like the connection between your computer and your TV is not correct.

So it's probably either the cable (check for bent pins) or the seating of the video output on your computer. See if anything seems loose.

Try to connect to another monitor that is not your TV and see if you get the same issues, if you do, try another cable.

If your TV and computer both support HDMI, I would try that. HDMI cables are available for under $10 and the connection is much easier than a computer VGA connection.
KevinNYC is offline   Reply With Quote
This NBA Basketball News Website Sponsored by:
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:56 AM.




NBA Basketball Forum Key Links:
InsideHoops Home
NBA Rumors
Basketball Blog
NBA Daily Recaps
NBA Videos
Fantasy Basketball
NBA Mock Draft
NBA Free Agents
All-Star Weekend
---
High School Basketball
Streetball
---
InsideHoops Twitter
Search Our Site















Powered by vBulletin Version 3.5.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. Terms of Use/Service | Privacy Policy