Message Board Basketball Forum - InsideHoops

Go Back   Message Board Basketball Forum - InsideHoops > InsideHoops Main Basketball Forums > Off the Court Lounge

Off the Court Lounge Basketball fans talk about everything EXCEPT basketball here

Old 03-29-2007, 09:26 AM   #1
VCDrivesAPorscheToWork
Very good NBA starter

VCDrivesAPorscheToWork is considered somewhat coolVCDrivesAPorscheToWork is considered somewhat coolVCDrivesAPorscheToWork is considered somewhat cool
Default Should the US get involved in Darfur?

let me just start out by saying it is truly a tragedy what is happening there since 2003, and it is truly a concern that everyone in the world, not as Americans, or Russians, or French, or Chinese, or etc... but as people, need to be concerned about.

I recently donated $100 to help the cause of alleviating problems there. (hey I'm a student, I can't break the bank)

And the UN is really ineffective with solving this.

but yesterday I came across a group of protesters who wanted the US to use military force to go into Darfur and solve the problem.

um... I won't comment about Middle East or anything, but my point is: would that be a smart choice of action?
VCDrivesAPorscheToWork is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2007, 09:49 AM   #2
different107
National High School Star

different107 has decent reputation
Default Re: Should the US get involved in Darfur?

At the moment, if the President authorized any more military action I think the nation would about explode. I hate seeing what is happening as much as anyone else, but at the moment I don't think military force would be the best decision. The UN is quite ineffecive in my opinion anyways. With most of our troops in the Middle East, do we even have the resources needed to go into Darfur?
different107 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2007, 10:13 AM   #3
VCDrivesAPorscheToWork
Very good NBA starter