Message Board Basketball Forum - InsideHoops

Go Back   Message Board Basketball Forum - InsideHoops > InsideHoops Main Basketball Forums > G League Forum, Minor League and International Basketball Forum

G League Forum, Minor League and International Basketball Forum G League Forum, Minor League and world international basketball forum

Thread Tools
Old 12-02-2014, 04:20 PM   #1
2nd Greatest Player
Lebron23's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Land of 6 NBA titles
Posts: 53,824
Default Top 40 PBA greatest player of all time.

Yap, Ildefonso, Miller lead additions to PBA’s greatest

By Nelson Beltran ( | Updated December 1, 2014 - 6:28pm


James Yap, Danny Ildefonso and Willie Miller

[qute]MANILA, Philippines – Two-time MVP awardees James Yap, Danny Ildefonso and Willie Miller lead the 15 players to be added to the previous list of 25 PBA greatest players as the local pro league celebrates its 40th anniversary next year.

The other MVP winners from year 2000 to present, except three-year pro Junmar Fajardo, made the elite roster selected by the PBA special nomination committee led by Robert Jaworski and Freddie Webb.

Yap, Ildefonso, Miller, Asi Taulava, Eric Menk, Kelly Williams, Jayjay Helterbrand, Jimmy Alapag, Mark Caguioa and Arwind Santos are joined in by Jayson Castro, Marc Pingris, Kerby Raymundo, Chito Loyzaga and Marlou Aquino.

The nomination committee, also made up of PBA chairman Patrick Gregorio, vice chairman Robert Non, Congressman Elpidio Barzaga and media men Joaquin Henson and Barry Pascua, took some two hours to finish the process of choosing the honorees.

In a blue-ribbon affair next year, these 15 players will be toasted with the previous PBA greats honored during the league’s silver anniversary in 2000.

The initial batch of league greats are Jaworski, Ramon Fernandez, Alvin Patrimonio, Bogs Adornado, Abet Guidaben, Benjie Paras, Atoy Co, Freddie Hubalde, Philip Cezar, Ricky Brown, Johnny Abarrientos, Ato Agustin, Francis Arnaiz, Allan Caidic, Hector Calma, Jerry Codinera, Kenneth Duremdes, Bernie Fabiosa, Danny Florencio, Jojo Lastimosa, Lim Eng Beng, Samboy Lim, Ronnie Magsanoc, and Manny Paner.
Sportshub ( Article MRec ), pagematch: 1, sectionmatch: 1

Honorees must have played five full seasons in the league, thus, Fajardo failed to make the nomination process yet.

Honorees must be also be a recipient of a major award and must have done an impact with the sport and the league.

From among the non-MVP winners, Castro, Pingris, Raymundo and Loyzaga emerged the top vote getters.

Aquino, a champion player with Ginebra and Sta. Lucia and many-time national player, beat out Seigle for the last slot.

Members of the special committee named their nominees and defended their nomination.

Among the big names missing the 25 greatest and the 40 greatest lists are Nelson Asaytono, Yoyoy Villamin, Abe King, Manny Victorino and Bong Hawkins.

Asaytono is No. 5 in the league’s all-time scoring ladder and recipient of three mythical first five awards and four mythical second team citations. He contented for MVP award numerous times.

Villamin played over 18 seasons, and won several championships and individual awards.

Last edited by Lebron23 : 12-02-2014 at 04:22 PM.
Lebron23 is offline   Reply With Quote
This NBA Basketball News Website Sponsored by:


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:44 PM.


NBA Basketball

NBA Rumors

Basketball Blog

NBA Videos

Search Site


Powered by vBulletin Version 3.5.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. Terms of Use/Service | Privacy Policy