Message Board Basketball Forum - InsideHoops

Message Board Basketball Forum - InsideHoops (http://www.insidehoops.com/forum/index.php)
-   Off the Court Lounge (http://www.insidehoops.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=7)
-   -   Revenge of the Reality-Based Community: A tale of Republican exile. (http://www.insidehoops.com/forum/showthread.php?t=282632)

KevinNYC 11-27-2012 03:26 PM

Revenge of the Reality-Based Community: A tale of Republican exile.

Revenge of the Reality-Based Community
My life on the Republican right—and how I saw it all go wrong.

Interesting article from Bruce Bartlett about how a Goldwater-Reagan Republican became an outcast in today's Republican Party. He first states his conservative bona fides.
Quote:

For more than 30 years, I was very comfortable within the conservative wing of the Republican Party. I still recall supporting Richard Nixon and Barry Goldwater as a schoolchild. As a student, I was a member of Young Republicans and Young Americans for Freedom at the height of the Vietnam War.......My first real job out of graduate school was working for Ron Paul the first time he was elected to Congress in a special election in 1976. (He lost that same year and came back two years later.) In those days, he was the only Tea Party-type Republican in Congress.

After Paul’s defeat, I went to work for Congressman Jack Kemp and helped draft the famous Kemp-Roth tax bill, which Ronald Reagan signed into law in 1981. I made important contributions to the development of supply-side economics and detailed my research in a 1981 book, Reaganomics: Supply-Side Economics in Action......

Then he mentions what happened to him after he started criticizing George W. Bush too early.
Quote: