Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17

Thread: Does a block after the whistle when the player is in motion tryna get the and1 count?

  1. #1
    Le11th superduper's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Posts
    10,131

    Default Does a block after the whistle when the player is in motion tryna get the and1 count?

    Does that count in the boxscore as a block? Just curious.

  2. #2
    Trans connoisseur RRR3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Communism works
    Posts
    33,079

    Default Re: Does a block after the whistle when the player is in motion tryna get the and1 count?

    No

  3. #3
    Banned
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Posts
    11,239

    Default Re: Does a block after the whistle when the player is in motion tryna get the and1 count?

    Why did LeBron win a champonship with 0 all stars in 2016?

  4. #4
    Banned SpaceJam2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Posts
    6,346

    Default Re: Does a block after the whistle when the player is in motion tryna get the and1 count?

    Quote Originally Posted by Dray n Klay
    Why did LeBron win a champonship with 0 all stars in 2016?

  5. #5
    Wear a mask. highwhey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    24,679

    Default Re: Does a block after the whistle when the player is in motion tryna get the and1 count?

    Quote Originally Posted by Dray n Klay
    Why did LeBron win a champonship with 0 all stars in 2016?
    because he's the m'fing GOAT

  6. #6
    Banned SpaceJam2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Posts
    6,346

    Default Re: Does a block after the whistle when the player is in motion tryna get the and1 count?

    Your Circus name is your first name + your last name.

    That's it. You're a clown. 🤡🤡🤡

  7. #7
    College superstar
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Posts
    4,759

    Default Re: Does a block after the whistle when the player is in motion tryna get the and1 count?

    Quote Originally Posted by superduper
    Does that count in the boxscore as a block? Just curious.
    Good question. It should though

  8. #8
    Decent college freshman Ben Simmons 25's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Posts
    2,730

    Default Re: Does a block after the whistle when the player is in motion tryna get the and1 count?

    Holy shit what a newbie question. How long have you been watching the NBA, really?

    Of course it does NOT count as a block.

    The reason it doesn't count is because in order to count it as a block, you'd have to penalize the offensive player by giving him a missed field goal attempt, who was just fouled. They're not passing out missed field goal attempts on fouls. Not now, not ever.

    Then there's the whole fact that maybe that shot doesn't get blocked if the offensive player wasn't fouled aspect of this equation...

    This is pretty common sense stuff, tbh.

    The fact of the matter is this shouldn't have to be explained to you. If this conversation doesn't illuminate you to the fact that you're highly ignorant about NBA basketball and that you should stop being so outrageously outspoken and confident with your opinions, speaking them as if they are facts, nothing ever will.
    Last edited by Ben Simmons 25; 05-04-2019 at 10:11 AM.

  9. #9
    College superstar
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Posts
    4,759

    Default Re: Does a block after the whistle when the player is in motion tryna get the and1 count?

    Quote Originally Posted by Ben Simmons 25
    Holy shit what a newbie question. How long have you been watching the NBA, really?

    Of course it does NOT count as a block.

    The reason it doesn't count is because in order to count it as a block, you'd have to penalize the offensive player by giving him a missed field goal attempt, who was just fouled. They're not passing out missed field goal attempts on fouls. Not now, not ever.

    Then there's the whole fact that maybe that shot doesn't get blocked if the offensive player wasn't fouled aspect of this equation...

    This is pretty common sense stuff, tbh.

    The fact of the matter is this shouldn't have to be explained to you. If this conversation doesn't illuminate you to the fact that you're highly ignorant about NBA basketball and that you should stop being so outrageously outspoken and confident with your opinions, speaking them as if they are facts, nothing ever will.
    If the shot goes in it counts as an attempt and a hoop so it's not that far off to wonder why the block doesn't count as a block.

  10. #10
    Decent college freshman Ben Simmons 25's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Posts
    2,730

    Default Re: Does a block after the whistle when the player is in motion tryna get the and1 count?

    Quote Originally Posted by Bronbron23
    If the shot goes in it counts as an attempt and a hoop so it's not that far off to wonder why the block doesn't count as a block.
    Again, not counting the shot if it goes in despite the foul would be tantamount to penalizing the player who was fouled. It is quite far off and quite different.

  11. #11
    I don't flop. bullettooth's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Posts
    4,784

    Default Re: Does a block after the whistle when the player is in motion tryna get the and1 count?

    Quote Originally Posted by highwhey
    because he's the m'fing GOAT
    Why did the GOAT lose 6 times in the finals?

  12. #12
    Banned SpaceJam2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Posts
    6,346

    Default Re: Does a block after the whistle when the player is in motion tryna get the and1 count?

    Quote Originally Posted by Ben Simmons 25
    Again, not counting the shot if it goes in despite the foul would be tantamount to penalizing the player who was fouled. It is quite far off and quite different.
    +1

    FGA benefits the offensive player, if they're fouled AND make it of course it should count because the shot was made with an even higher degree of difficulty.

    OP is just playing dumb though...

  13. #13
    College superstar
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Posts
    4,759

    Default Re: Does a block after the whistle when the player is in motion tryna get the and1 count?

    Quote Originally Posted by Ben Simmons 25
    Again, not counting the shot if it goes in despite the foul would be tantamount to penalizing the player who was fouled. It is quite far off and quite different.
    Yeah I guess but lots of shots are altered from fouls that arnt called and it's probably actually harder to get a block when the wistle is blown because most defenders ease up stop playing when they hear the wistle. I hear what your saying though I just don't think op's question was as bas as you made it out to be

  14. #14
    Knicks all da way imdaman99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    26,734

    Default Re: Does a block after the whistle when the player is in motion tryna get the and1 count?

    Even if it doesn't count, I applaud players that do it because nothing is worse than you pretending you didn't touch the guy (touch foul) and the guy gets an easy layup after he knows the whistle is coming. If you're gonna get called for a foul, or your teammate gets called for a foul, preventing that shot without goaltending saves you at least 1 point.

  15. #15
    ... on a leash ArbitraryWater's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    I walk a higher path, son
    Posts
    38,784

    Default Re: Does a block after the whistle when the player is in motion tryna get the and1 count?

    Lol, OP

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •