Originally Posted by blacknapalm
i'll try to make this clearer. the replay official cannot overturn possession. the only things he is checking are the time on the clock and whether the ball hit the ground or not. by the rulebook, he's not allowed to review who made the catch. he's only allowed to review if it's complete or incomplete. the ref on the field screwed up by calling it a TD.
I'll make this clearest:
The replay cannot officially step in and overturn a call.
The replay official can get into the refs ear and talk to him. It may be likely that he thought it was too blatant, but he can talk to him.