Originally Posted by blacknapalm
i'll try to make this clearer. the replay official cannot overturn possession. the only things he is checking are the time on the clock and whether the ball hit the ground or not. by the rulebook, he's not allowed to review who made the catch. he's only allowed to review if it's complete or incomplete. the ref on the field screwed up by calling it a TD.
The missed PI wasn't reviewable, but determining who had possession of the ball in the end zone was reviewable.
"In the end zone, a ruling of a simultaneous catch is reviewable. That is not the case in the field of play, only in the end zone."
Meh, all I can hope is that the Giants, Eagles, and/or the Cowboys are the next teams to get screwed over.