Originally Posted by SourPatchKids
Aye, what ended up happening at the end of that game?
That layup tied the ballgame with one second remaining. He had a free throw to win it, and he was an 80%+ guy from the stripe (and seemingly immune to pressure) so I think folks thought it was going to be automatic.
Obviously though, he missed. As you can see, the ball bounced back to him (after his jump spin) at which point he fired and hit that crazy off balance shot. I've always been confused by the ruling though. Should the clock have begun the moment the ball hit the rim, the moment it hit the floor, or the moment a player touched it?
Either way, it was waved off and we eventually won in overtime.