Message Board Basketball Forum - InsideHoops

Go Back   Message Board Basketball Forum - InsideHoops > InsideHoops Main Basketball Forums > Off the Court Lounge

Off the Court Lounge Basketball fans talk about everything EXCEPT basketball here

Old 10-14-2010, 09:02 PM   #1
SCREWstonRockets
Houston Texan

SCREWstonRockets is a pretty well-respected posterSCREWstonRockets is a pretty well-respected posterSCREWstonRockets is a pretty well-respected posterSCREWstonRockets is a pretty well-respected poster
Default So I'm about to start coaching....

I'm about to start coaching for the first time ever for a Youth Basketball league, ages 10-11. Supposedly, I've been put in the most competitive division which kind of makes me nervous being that I'm a first time coach. It's not like this is AAU or anything. No tryouts, one of those leagues where every kid that signs up in on a team I'm a basketball junkie so this is something I always wanted to try. Anyone here have experience with coaching? Any tips you can give me? Am I getting in way over my head?

For offense, I plan on just letting them loose but incorporate the pick and roll and screens. As for defense, basic man to man seems simple enough and I know how to run the 2-3 zone. Advice that yall can give me will be greatly appreciated.
SCREWstonRockets is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2010, 09:06 PM   #2
sirkeelma
Local High School Star

sirkeelma has an incredible reputation heresirkeelma has an incredible reputation heresirkeelma has an incredible reputation heresirkeelma has an incredible reputation heresirkeelma has an incredible reputation heresirkeelma has an incredible reputation heresirkeelma has an incredible reputation here
Default Re: So I'm about to start coaching....

I prefer Run n' Gun type of offense. Young kids has fresh legs. But if you have a legit big man improve his D.
sirkeelma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2010, 09:09 PM   #3
PowerGlove
By Any Means