The San Antonio Spurs celebration of their 35th Anniversary of the franchise continues Tuesday, February 19, with the third of four special tribute games.

The Spurs played their first ABA regular season game against the San Diego Conquistadors at the HemisFair Arena on October 10, 1973. San Antonio made the transition to the NBA during the 1976-77 season and have gone on to win four NBA Championships (1999, 2003, 2005 and 2007).

At halftime the Spurs will honor Bob Bass who played an integral part in the Spurs success in the franchise’s first 20 years of existence. Bass served the Spurs in a variety of capacities, including five seasons as head coach (1974-76, 1979-80, 1983-84 and 1991-92), where he compiled a 144-108 (.571) record and led the team to the playoffs four times. Bass made his mark during his 18 years in the Spurs’ front office, where he was responsible for the acquisition of Spurs legends Sean Elliott, Avery Johnson, John Lucas, Johnny Moore, Alvin Robertson and David Robinson. He was named NBA Executive of the Year for the 1989-90 season after the Spurs posted a 56-26 record.

Joining Bass for this special presentation will be former players that wore the Silver and Black during Bass’ time with the Spurs including: Gene Banks, Sean Elliott, Mike Gale, George “Iceman” Gervin, Paul Griffin, Mike Mitchell, Johnny Moore and James Silas.

There are a total of four Spurs “35th Anniversary” tribute games scheduled throughout the season. Back on November 11, the Spurs honored Red McCombs for his contributions he made to the Spurs during his ownership. On January 14, the Spurs celebrated Angelo Drossos’ ownership of the Spurs. The final tribute game will take place on March 26 vs. Los Angeles Clippers.