Tim Duncan made his first appearance in the NBA Finals in the 1998-99 season and is making is his sixth appearance in the championship round in the 2013-14 season, marking the second-longest span between Finals appearances in NBA history. Kareem Abdul-Jabbar played in the 1971 Finals with the Milwaukee Bucks and the 1988 Finals with the Los Angeles Lakers. Robert Parish won a title with the Boston Celtics in 1981, and was on the roster of the 1997 Chicago Bulls, but didn’t play in the 1997 Finals.

San Antonio is making its sixth NBA Finals appearance in franchise history, which is the eighth most in NBA history. The Spurs have amassed a 19-10 record (.655) in the Finals, the second-best winning percentage in NBA Finals history. Additionally, the Spurs are 11-3 (.786) at home in the NBA Finals and 8-7 (.533) on the road.

The Spurs have won seven consecutive home games by 15+ points, marking the longest such streak in NBA postseason history. The record was previously set by the 1985 Los Angeles Lakers when they recorded six straight such games. San Antonio owns a +17.4 point differential average in 10 home games this postseason, the most among playoff teams.

Miami has scored more points off turnovers than its opponent in 13 of its 15 games this postseason and has forced opponents into double-figure turnovers in all 15 games as the opposition has averaged 13.7 turnovers (206 total) over that span during the playoffs.

LeBron James is one assist shy of his 1,000th career postseason assist, and would become just the third player in NBA postseason history to total at least 4,000 points (4,278), 1,000 rebounds (1,293) and 1,000 assists (999), joining Michael Jordan and Kobe Bryant.

The Heat and Spurs have a combined seven NBA Finals MVP awards (LeBron James - 2012, 2013; Tony Parker - 2007; Dwyane Wade - 2006; Tim Duncan - 1999, 2003, 2005).

Eight players on Finals rosters boast NBA D-League experience: San Antonio’s Aron Baynes, Austin Daye, Damion James, Patty Mills, Danny Green and Cory Joseph; and Miami’s Chris Andersen and Justin Hamilton.

– Via NBA News