Mavericks re-sign Dirk Nowitzki

The Dallas Mavericks announced today they have re-signed forward Dirk Nowitzki. Per team policy, terms of the deal were not disclosed.

Nowitzki (7-0, 245) remains with the Mavericks, the team that acquired his draft rights on June 28, 1998. While in Dallas, Nowitzki has been a nine-time All-Star (starting twice), named to the All-NBA Team each of the past nine seasons and was honored as the NBA’s Most Valuable Player for the 2006-07 season when he led the Mavericks to a franchise-high 67 wins.

The Wurzburg, Germany native became the Mavericks’ all-time scoring leader on March 8, 2008 when he scored his 16,644th point to surpass Rolando Blackman. Nowitzki also holds the franchise’s top-spot in several other categories, including rebounds (7,802), field goals (7,348), 3-point field goals (7,348), free throws (5,284), free throw percentage (.876), starts (895), games (920) and minutes (33,732).

On January 13, 2010, Nowitzki became the 34th player in NBA history to hit the 20,000-point plateau and currently ranks 27th on the NBA’s all-time scoring list. He has been named Western Conference Player of the Month six times and Player of the Week 14 times, including four times during the 2009-10 season. Nowitzki has competed in All-Star Saturday Night’s three-point contest four times, winning the shootout in 2006, and won the 2010 Haier Shooting Star contest along with former Houston Rocket Kenny Smith and San Antonio Silver Star Becky Hammon.

Nowitzki, a 12-year pro, holds career averages of 22.9 points, 8.5 rebounds, 2.7 assists, 1.0 blocks and 36.7 minutes in 920 career games with the Mavericks. Additionally, Nowitzki has played in 97 postseason contests and averages 25.5 points, 11.0 rebounds, 2.3 assists, 1.2 steals and 1.0 blocks in Playoff games.

Dallas Mavericks Dirk Nowitzki (R) drives to the basket against San Antonio Spurs Antonio McDyess during the first half of game 3 of their NBA Western Conference quarter-final playoff basketball game in San Antonio, Texas, April 23, 2010. REUTERS/Joe Mitchell (UNITED STATES)