On Friday, March 28, during halftime of the Bucks/Magic game at the Bradley Center, the Milwaukee Bucks will continue their season-long, 40th anniversary celebration of the franchise’s greatest players when they honor Oscar Robertson and re-dedicate his #1 retired jersey banner. The Robertson recognition will be part of the Bucks 40th Anniversary celebration honoring the Bucks 40th Anniversary Team as selected by the fans in online balloting.

Robertson came to the Bucks prior to the 1970-71 season and helped the Bucks to the 1971 NBA Championship. Milwaukee won the title just three seasons after the franchise’s birth, the fastest any expansion team has won a championship. In 14 postseason games, Robertson averaged 18.3 points, 8.9 assists and 5.0 rebounds.

“The Big O” was acquired from the Cincinnati Royals in exchange for Flynn Robinson and Charlie Paulk. A 10-year veteran and 10-time All-Star with the Royals, Robertson played four seasons and appeared in 288 games with the Bucks. He averaged 16.3 points, 7.5 assists and 4.9 rebounds in those games and earned two All-Star appearances. Robertson’s 668 assists in 1970-71 are second in franchise history and stood as the record until the 1999-00 season. He ranks among the franchise leaders in points (4,701, 19th), assists (2,156, 6th) and free throw percentage (.842, 9th).

Though his regular season numbers are impressive, Robertson also led the Bucks to the postseason in each of his four years as the team won the championship, reached the conference finals, the conference semifinals and the NBA finals in his four years, respectively. The Bucks were 31-16 in the playoffs during his tenure with Robertson averaging 16.0 points, 8.5 assists and 4.6 rebounds in those 47 games.

In terms of playoff leaders, Robertson is 8th in points (751), 10th in scoring average (16.0), 6th in minutes played (1,845), 7th in field goals made (297), 8th in free throws made (157), 5th in free throw percentage (.822) and T-1st in assists (401).

The only player in franchise history to wear #1, Robertson was the first Milwaukee Buck to have his number retired on October 18, 1974. Robertson’s ceremony is the sixth out of seven on the season: Kareem Abdul-Jabbar (Nov 21), Sidney Moncrief (Jan 19), Junior Bridgeman (Feb 9), Bob Lanier (Feb 20), Brian Winters (Mar 18) with the Jon McGlocklin ceremony to be held on April 4 when the Bucks play the Pacers.