Dwight Howard wins 2010-11 Defensive Player of Year

Dwight Howard of the Orlando Magic is the recipient of the 2010-11 NBA Defensive Player of the Year Award, the NBA announced today. Howard becomes the first player to earn the honor three straight seasons; only Dikembe Mutombo and Ben Wallace, with four each, have won the award more times.

The 6-11 center led the league with 66 double-doubles, including six 20-point/20-rebound efforts, while ranking second in rebounds (14.1 rpg) and fourth in blocks (2.38 bpg). With Howard manning the middle, the Magic allowed 93.5 ppg, ranking fourth in that category.

Second in the voting was Boston Celtics forward Kevin Garnett. Dallas Mavericks center Tyson Chandler was third, Memphis Grizzlies guard Tony Allen was fourth, and Boston Celtics guard Rajon Rondo was fifth.